Simultaneous elections in six states, polling on Aug 12

PUTRAJAYA: Voters in Kedah, Kelantan, Terengganu, Penang, Selangor and Negeri Sembilan will go to the polls on Aug 12, following the Election Commission’s (EC) decision to hold simultaneous state elections in the six states.
When announcing this today, EC chairman Tan Sri Abdul Ghani Salleh said nominations would be held on July 29 and early voting on Aug 8.
He said about 9.7 million voters are eligible to cast their ballots in the state polls.
The electoral rolls to be used in the state elections are the latest ones until the Supplementary Electoral Roll for April 2023, updated as at June 21,” he told a press conference after chairing a special EC meeting on the state polls at Menara SPR here.
EC convened the meeting after receiving the notification on the official dissolution of the six state assemblies from their Speakers.
Kelantan was the first to dissolve its state assembly on June 22, followed by Selangor (June 23), Penang, Kedah and Terengganu (June 28), and Negeri Sembilan (July 1).
These six states did not dissolve their state assemblies when Parliament was dissolved on Oct 10 last year to pave the way for the 15th general election (GE15) on Nov 19.
Abdul Ghani said the state polls would involve 245 seats, comprising 36 in Kedah, 45 in Kelantan, 32 in Terengganu, 40 in Penang, 56 in Selangor and 36 in Negeri Sembilan. 
“The campaign period has been fixed for 14 days, beginning from after the announcement on candidates’ names on July 29, 2023 until 11.58 pm on Aug 11, 2023,” he said.
Abdul Ghani said applications for all categories of postal votes overseas and in the country were opened on June 15.


Related Articles


Latest Articles