Gee: 4 more Neighbourhood Watch communities for Luyang

KOTA KINABALU: Four additional Neigbourhood Watch Communities (Komuniti Rukun Tetangga) will be set up for Luyang soon, said Gee Tien Siong.


Gee, Luyang Community Development Leader (PPM Luyang), said the Luyang Police Sub-district, under KK Police District, requires 12 Neighbourhood Watch (KRT), because of increased development and housing over the years.

“There are currently eight Neighbourhood watch communities within Luyang Police Sub-district. One of them was reported to be more active among the rest.

He said Neighbourhood Watch is an approach to form a relationship concerning households in the neighbourhood with police and local government. The scheme considered as effective mechanism to assist local communities in efforts to reduce crime rates, vigilance as well as fostering neighbourhood spirit and unity.

Gee, who is also Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) vice president said with four more KRT for Luyang, hopefully will improve home security and promote harmony in the neighbourhood.
The team consisting of Luyang UPPM officers and Luyang Kapitans led by Gee held a meeting with Luyang Police Station Chief S/Inspektor Mohd Rashidi bin Nawawi, to discuss public security issues, proposals and solutions, last Saturday.

The setting up of more Neigbourhood Watch communities is strongly supported by Mohd Rashidi. He also suggested the existing inactive ones in Luyang be revived and revitalized to continue the program’s good intention.

Related Articles


Latest Articles